(870) 777-4564

500 South Elm Hope, AR 71801


The Hempstead County Library serves the people residing in the 728 square miles of Hempstead County, Arkansas. The library is located in Hope, the County Seat, which is located 35 miles east of Texarkana and 114 miles south of Little Rock. An estimated 22,000 people live in Hempstead County. The HCL was established in 1948 with the help of several generous local donors. Ground was broken for a new library facility in 2017. The library was completed in 2019 and was made possible by both a $1.4 million donation by Milton and Mary Campbell and the taxpayers of Hempstead County.

There are 4 computers for the public to use, each with Internet access, and 2 online catalog computers. The Hempstead County Library’s collection consists of over 45,000 books, audios, DVDs, magazines and other materials. As a public library all basic services are free for anyone who wishes to use them. Fees are charged for printing, photocopying, and overdue materials. Library Policies are established by the Library Board of Commissioners.

The library is governed by a Board of Commissioners, with five members appointed by the Hempstead County Quorum Court. The Hempstead County Library Board of Commissioners includes Jerry Pruden (Chairman), Judy Davis (Vice Chairwoman), John Hays, Juan Rivera, and Catherine Cook.